Detlef Lohse
Detlef Lohse / Professor of Fluid mechanics, University of Twente

Detlef Lohse got his his PhD on the theory of turbulence in Marburg/Germany in 1992. After time as postdoc in Chicago, Marburg, and Muenchen, in 1998 he got appointed as Chair of Physics of Fluids at the University of Twente, The Netherlands, where he still is.

Lohse’s present research subjects are turbulence and multiphase flow, granular matter, and micro- and nanofluidics. Both experimental, theoretical, and numerical methods are used in his group.

Lohse is Associate Editor of Journal of Fluid Mechanics, Annual Review of Fluid Mechanics, and several other journals. He is Fellow of the American Physical Society, Division of Fluid Dynamics, and of IoP. He is also elected Member of the German Academy of Science (Leopoldina), the Royal Dutch Academy of Science (KNAW), the Koninklijke Hollandsche Maatschappij der Wetenschappen, and External Member of the Max Planck Society.

He received various prizes such as the Spinoza Prize (2005), the Simon Stevin Prize (2009), an ERC-Advanced Grant (2010), the Physica Prize (2011), the George K. Batchelor Prize for Fluid Dynamics (2012), and the AkzoNobel Prize (2012).

More information